Home » Blog » Perseverance

Perseverance

“Remember those earlier days after you had received the light, when
you stood your ground in a great contest in the face of suffering. . . .”
Hebrews 10:32-39

Christ fell to his knees in prayer and asked that the cup of persecution and death be taken from him.  God remained silent.  As a result, Jesus suffered countless hours of torture.

His only response:  “I Am He.”

My response would have been to babble endlessly in hopes that I’d say something to save myself.

To endure such gruesome beatings and slanderous accusations without mumbling a word in his defense reads like a prisoner of war tale.  It seems impossible to endure so much and say so little.  Yet, God never requested the impossible from Jesus.  Neither does he request the impossible from us.  All that Jesus did we can also do.

Prayer:    Lord, embolden me in the face of persecution.  Though I am weak, make me strong.

Think:     How did you respond to slanderous accusations?  Remember how God rescued you from the jaws of persecution.

Read:      Hebrews 10:32-39; Revelations 12:17; I Peter 4:12-19; Luke 1:37

Check out Donna’s new book “Selfish Ambition” at http://www.Smashwords.com or http://www.bn.com.  It’s FREE.


5 Comments

  1. starrystez says:

    This is so inspiring and exactly what I need to hear at the moment. I often draw upon the life and sufferings of Jesus. Thank you.

    Like

  2. Great piece Donna. We are made in His image and we have been given the strength of Jesus to persevere. We are wonderfully made! Thanks for post.

    Like

Comments are closed.

